Hello Old Friend

By:- 


I made up a few lyrics for the New Year to document my relationship with my treadmill.  Sang to the tune of Simon and Garfunkel song, “The Sound of Silence.”  (If you don’t know this song click here for the YouTube version.)

Hello treadmill my old friend,

Its great to see you there again,

I know I broke up with you in 2016,

But now I see that this was the wrong thing,

And my body… that is soft, round and thick, 

Still remains,

I miss the sound…… of running…..

Okay, so I broke up with my treadmill in 2016.  We both saw it coming.  We grew apart.  I knew this would happen.  I have to blame myself.  I didn’t carve enough time out for you.  I know that’s all you really wanted from me, treadmill.  Then I know you heard about those times with the street – it was just about the running.  I had no feelings for the street.  You have to believe me.

But I want to call a truce.  Treadmill, please take me back.  We had such a good thing going.  You, me, Netflix.  It could be like that again.

I promise to dust you off and actually plug you back in.  I will come to see you at least 5 times a week.  Me and the street – we are over!  It’s cold outside,  and winter and I broke up a long time ago.

Today, my old friend treadmill is my favorite : )

Daily tally:

Avery 0/0, Brooke +1/0, Kate 0/0, treadmill +1/0


Note: The copyrights on the article belong to the author. The responsibility for the opinions expressed in the article belongs exclusively to the author. 

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

