California Dreamin’

By:- Charles Coakley Simpson

Cali was a cute little suffer girl from Santa Ana.

She was about this tall, had a sweet laugh, great smile,

deliriously long caramel-colored hair,

and a nice little IM.

We liked to pretend we were in love.

She used to send me photos

of herself in the dressing room at the mall

with her iPhone while she was sitting in Physics class.

“There’s more where that came from,” she would wink.

She took me for a drive one night—

just her, her iPhone, and I.

We ended up out on the beach where

she lay me out bedside her on a blanket, flipped me open,

and began texting with a warm, seductive voice

into my ear.

I thought I was roaming.

“Touch me—here,” she teased.

And forwarded me a photo of the inside of her thigh.

I was all thumbs.

I moved my hand slowly up the inside of her LCD.

She giggled as I started caressing her Instagram application.

“Do you love me?” She purred.

“I thought we were pretending.” I replied.


The copyrights on the article belong to the author. The responsibility for the opinions expressed in the article belongs exclusively to the author.

 

1 Comment

  1. The difference between reality and virtual reality can (as you seem to suggest in your great story/poem) become very blurred. Indeed there are those who postulate significant numbers of people will (eventually) upload themselves to wwhatever replaces the World Wide Web. While I am unsure as to whether this will, in fact happen, its undoubtedly the case that increasing numbers have virtual relationships. KevinThe difference between reality and virtual reality can (as you seem to suggest in your great story/poem) become very blurred. Indeed there are those who postulate significant numbers of people will (eventually) upload themselves to wwhatever replaces the World Wide Web. While I am unsure as to whether this will, in fact happen, its undoubtedly the case that increasing numbers have virtual relationships. Kevin

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

