Cry of Desperation

By: Jonathan Noble

Lord … I have done all that I can do and can do no more;
My whole body, mind and soul is in pain that does not wane,
And I am spent now, bent on walking through the exit door
Hoping there is something more on the other side to abide;
My whole self is empty whereas once I had plenty to give
To live life fully, but now I am truly and purely dried up;
And is there any escape from my fate or is it now too late;
Yes, late is the hour and now my destiny hangs on the bower,
And I can see the dark tower looming ahead calling the dead;
It beckons to me to leave behind the debris to now be free,
And so what shall I answer so filled with numinous cancer?
Now, maybe, the time has come to say farewell to the world
In which I was hurled; will I be missed or kissed goodbye?
Lord, will you come to rescue or let me do what I must do?
Despair fills the very air and fair dreams are so far away,
And I have no desire to see another day … not this way!
Lord, let me fall asleep and keep my soul for the new dawn,
But let me pass on whereupon I will finally find true peace


Note: The copyrights on the article belong to the author. The responsibility for the opinions expressed in the article belongs exclusively to the author.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

